The Poison Tree - Erin Kelly

The Poison Tree

By Erin Kelly

  • Release Date: 2011-01-06
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 278 Ratings

Description

From an incredible new voice in psychological suspense, a novel about the secrets that remain after a final bohemian summer of excess turns deadly.

This taut psychological thriller begins when Karen and her nine-year- old daughter, Alice, pick up Rex from a ten-year stint in prison for murder. Flash back to the sultry summer in 1990s London when Karen, a straight-A student on the verge of college graduation, first meets the exotic, flamboyant Biba and joins her louche life in a crumbling mansion in Highgate. She begins a relationship with Biba's enigmatic and protective older brother, Rex, and falls into a blissful rhythm of sex, alcohol, and endless summer nights. Naïvely, Karen assumes her newfound happiness will last forever. But Biba and Rex have a complicated family history-one of abandonment, suicide, and crippling guilt-and Karen's summer of freedom is about to end in blood.

When old ghosts come back to destroy the life it has taken Karen a decade to build, she has everything to lose. She will do whatever it takes to protect her family and keep her secret. Alternating between the fragile present and the lingering past with a shocker of an ending, The Poison Tree is a brilliant suspense debut that will appeal to readers of Kate Atkinson, Donna Tartt, and Tana French.

Reviews

  • Another GREAT ONE!

    5
    By MygiftsA&L
    This was another wonderful book by Erin Kelly....Her character development is so thought out that the characters become completely visible. I am excited to continue to read every book that she has written! Keep writing these hard to put down psychological thrillers...We fans want more!
  • Victoria

    5
    By Sola Ana
    Fascinating story from start to finish. It had been quite a long time since I'd read a book I found this difficult to put down. I would definitely recommend this enjoyable read.
  • great read

    4
    By Maura123
    Starts slow but is utterly captivating.
  • The Poision Tree

    4
    By Sadiegirl4
    Great book, loved the characters. Would like to see it made into a movie! When it slows down, be patient, it's worth the wait!
  • Good

    4
    By Th456
    Was slow at first but ended up being a great book.
  • SwitchBug

    4
    By SwitchBug
    Something different and well written,
  • Read this book

    5
    By Justducky707
    The past and present are beautifully woven together. The author skillfully portrays the feelings of infatuation that one can feel towards a new friend and the lengths someone will go to to protect the ones they love. The story slows at some points, but picks back up. A good read.
  • Artful mystery

    5
    By Leilanirayn
    The past and present are beautifully interwoven in this story of fascinating characters. Each plot twist is unexpected but perfect and serves to draw the reader further into the story. I did not want it to end and hope to read more by Erin Kelly. I strongly recommend this book.
  • The Poison Tree

    5
    By VAGirl24
    I didn't want this book to end! I wanted the characters to continue on! Lol. Good book!

Comments